Introduced by: Mayor Dyment

Date Introduced: 2-22-05
Public Hearing Date: 3-8-05

Action: Passed 4-3

Date Enacted: 3-8-05

## CITY OF BETHEL, ALASKA

## **ORDINANCE #05-04**

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING SECTION 2.25.030 OF THE BETHEL MUNICIPAL CODE RELATING TO THE COMPOSITION OF THE CITY'S PUBLIC SAFETY & TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION.

**BE IT ORDAINED** by the City Council of Bethel, Alaska, that:

**SECTION 1. Classification**. This ordinance is of a general and permanent nature and shall become a part of the Bethel Municipal Code.

**SECTION 2. Amendment.** Section 2.25.030 of the Bethel Municipal Code entitled "Composition" is hereby amended to read as follows (new language is underlined and deleted language is stricken through):

## 2.25.030 Composition

Membership. The voting members of the PSTC shall be nine seven citizens who have been residents of the city for at least one year and otherwise comply with the requirements of BMC 2.52.040 and this chapter. The ninth seventh voting member shall be a member of the city council. No more than two one member may have an interest in the vehicle-for-hire industry. A person who applies for a seat on the commission shall disclose in the application all interests the person has in the vehicle-for-hire industry. A member of the commission who becomes a person with an interest in the vehicle-for-hire industry after appointment to the commission shall immediately disclose that interest and forfeits his or her seat on the commission if there already exists two one member with an interest in the vehicle-for-hire industry.

**SECTION 3. Effective Date.** The requirement in section 2 of this Ordinance that the voting members of the PSTC be reduced to seven citizens shall become effective immediately upon passage by the City Council. The requirement in section 2 of this Ordinance that there be one member of the PSTC who has an interest in the vehicle-for-hire industry shall become effective on January 1, 2006.

ENACTED THIS 8<sup>TH</sup> DAY OF MARCH 2005, BY A VOTE OF 4 IN FAVOR AND 3 OPPOSED.

Hugh Dyment, Mayor

Sandra Modigh, City Clerk